Month 3 – March

20150328_133821 20150328_133808 20150326_164333 20150326_164326 20150326_163907

This month was very insane. Still pretty sleep deprived I was taking antihistamines daily because that was the only thing that helped me sleep even though it would always give me this kind of restless feeling in my groin, like I really had to pee but I couldn’t. It’s hard to describe but I eventually stopped taking them. After that I had a really insane bout of insomnia. I found this blog post about someone who went through anti-histamine withdrawal, I’m not sure if this was the same thing I experienced but it felt similar. 

I wasn’t able to sleep all night and the only time that I could seem to get any sleep was around 5 or 6 AM until around noon but my homework from school was mounting. There was a ton of homework assigned every day and I was really struggling to keep up with the workload. Eventually after my third or fourth straight night of no sleep I had to call out of school for a couple days. I tried to keep up outside of class but I was so stressed out it felt like my mind had hit a mental block with the material. I couldn’t retain any of the material and I was really miserable. I had no real idea how I was going to make it through withdrawal and be able to keep up with school and eventually working everyday as an electrician. Out in the elements, getting covered in irritants all day and I think we can all agree that working with electricity and power tools while sleep deprived is not an ideal combination. I decided the best thing I could do for myself and my classmates was to quit school and focus on getting better.

2 thoughts on “Month 3 – March

  1. Jenny

    I came across your blog today and really enjoyed reading your updates on your TSA. I just discovered red skin syndrome/TSA a few days ago and it really hit a cord with me since I am highly suspecting it is what I have. Been suffering 2+ years from what I’ve coined as my advanced & evolved “form of eczema” which I just couldn’t figure out. It’s oddly comforting to read almost my exact miserable thoughts and experiences through another voice. Hope you’re doing well on your journey. Just wanted you to know how much I enjoy your updates.

    Like

    Reply
    1. danomunro Post author

      Thanks! A big reason I thought I should start doing this is because looking at other people’s pictures has been one of the only things that has helped me get through this ordeal. I haven’t gotten an official diagnosis for being in TSW except from a Naturopath who has treated other people with this condition. I know that that’s not very conclusive to most western minded thinkers but it was good enough for me. I just know that this isn’t normal eczema or atopic dermatitis: I have never felt this rundown from my eczema, I have never been kept up all night from my eczema, I have never had full body from my eczema, I have never scratched my hands raw or had the skin take so long to heal from eczema. This is something different and every derm that I have seen when I have asked them about TSW has just repeated “It’s very controversial”. Yes, it is. Not because the evidence isn’t there but because the dermatological community is moving at a snail’s pace to understand it.

      Like

      Reply

Leave a Reply

