“Pretty Sensible”

I had an appointment today with a rheumatologist to see whether or not I possible had Lupus after some of my blood work tested positive with an ANA antibody that is linked with Lupus, in addition to my swollen lymph nodes, sore joints and a couple of other symptoms that are linked with Lupus. Luckily, it was a false positive, and the doctor ruled out Lupus and arthritis. He wants to rule out lymphoma so I need to schedule a CT scan but I’m quite confident that I don’t have it and that all these symptoms are TSW related.

At the end of our appointment I told him about my TCS usage and how all the symptoms I’ve been experiencing are related to TCS abuse and started shortly after I quit using TCS. He said that that was a “pretty sensible” conclusion and even used the word withdrawal (I now tend to avoid saying Topical Steroid Withdrawal during meetings with doctors because I’ve found that it tends to be a trigger for them to stop listening to me.) I can’t tell you how much those two little words meant to me. Almost every doctor I’ve seen has either clammed up when I mention TSW or immediately went on the defensive and try to diagnose me with something else. As I’ve said before, the only medical professional that has diagnosed me with TSW was a naturopath and they are pretty much at the bottom of the totem pole when it comes to mainstream medical acceptance. 

Leave a Reply

