Month 25 – January

 

Well ,it’s now been 2 years since I stopped taking TCS. My life has changed a lot in that time. I’ve tried numerous diets, right now I seem to have settled on the Ketogenic diet. It’s a high fat, low carb diet that eliminates grains, sugars and potatoes more than anything. I’ve only been doing it for a month, and it’s a bit early to say, but I think it has helped a lot in reducing inflammation in my body overall. The oozing on my face and hands has pretty much stopped, which has a huge effect on my overall mood. When your face is oozing disgusting fluid all the time, it really saps any self esteem you may have accumulated and generally makes you want to dig a hole and hide in it until your face magically clears up. All things considered, I’m still very red on my face, neck, arms and legs (around the joint areas) but my skin feels more resilient than it has in a long time and sometimes even feels like normal skin when I’m properly moisturized and hydrated. Another thing that I think has been helping, my hands at least, is that I’ve started putting aloe vera oil on hands and then sealing it in with my beeswax jojo-balm. It’s really helped in reducing inflammation and healing up the cracks that form on my hands.

Overall, these last 2 years have been a period of complete transformation for me. From what I eat to how I sleep and take care of myself, I’ve really had to make my psychical and mental health the main priority in my life. I’m also very fortunate to have such a supportive girlfriend that has stuck by me this whole time and suffered with me and made my health a priority as much as I have. I’m truly blessed and eternally grateful to her for being so strong and so accommodating to my circumstances. I see people online all the time saying how their partners can’t handle this, and I can understand why; it pretty much completely robs a person of their self esteem, confidence and leaves them an anxiety riddled mess, as least in my situation. But she has stayed with me despite my looking like I have contacted greyscale. Trying not to get too sappy here but she’s definitely the best thing that has ever happened to me and has been the MOST important thing in my road to healing.

Leave a Reply

